Aliona Yurtsevich
Aliona Yurtsevich


March 2010

Aliona  Yurtsevich  


Born in Belarus, Aliona Yurtsevich comes from several creative backgrounds. 

As a composer Yurtsevich is developing her own unique style, exploring traditional abilities of acoustic instruments with the main emphasis on the theatrical aspect of musical performance, live electronics, sound spatialization and the sound itself. As a result of multiple creative backgrounds, her work leans towards experimental multidisciplinary sound-theater, highliting theatricality of the sound itself and visual (aesthetic) aspect of the musical performance. She puts strong emphasis on exploring and researching synergy between different artistic forms and languages in the musical context, where any additional media chosen to be used are genetically embedded in the score from the start of the creation of the work. 

Her mini-chamber opera VIAGGIO INTERIORE[Awakening of Alice](2009) for chamber ensemble and electronics was in top three nominated works for Dutch Music Prize TOONZETTERS'2010 in Amsterdam /NL, and received 2nd prize at MINIMUSICDRAMA’2009/ ISCM(SIMC)/Ovada,IT.

Her collaboration with choreographer Brian Tjon(NL) “...In the stillness between two waves of the sea...”, for which Yurtsevich wrote music and designed costumes, received “Best Duo Dance Production 2010” prize at “SzoloDuo 2010” International dance festival / Budapest.

From age of seven, she studied classical piano and took her first composition lessons. She received Bachelor degree in classical music and pedagogy from the Academy of Music in Minsk / Belarus (1993). From 1993-2006 she lived and worked in New York(US) where her creative career shifted towards art and design. 
As a visual artists she worked with photography, sculpture and experimental film/video - developing projects and showing her work in art shows and film festivals in New York city and USA. 

Being a multidisciplinary artist in her creative approach, music was always one of the very important components of her work. She decided to pursue her passion for music. From 2006 she continued her music studies at Utrecht School of the Arts (NL), faculty of Art Media & Technology, where she studied instrumental and electro-acoustic composition with Barbara Woof, Marcel Wierckx and Yannis Kyriakides.  She received Master of Arts in Composition in Context (2007), 
Master of Music in Composition (2009), and wrote her master thesis on “Sonification of Visual Data in Composition context”. In 2008 she was granted a scholarship to participate in composer's residency at Atlantic Center for the Arts (ACA) with David Lang (US), participated in workshops with composer David Dramm (2007), workshop series Performer'09 at Walter Maas Huis(NL) (2009), workshops at STEIM, and I-Lab with ensemble INSOMNIO (2008-09). She took part in International Composer's Academy IMPULS'11 in Graz, where she had lessons with Beat Furrer, Rebecca Saunders, Pierluigi Billone, and where her new ensemble work "Gently Walking Towards" was selected for a reading session with ensemble Interface, and her piece TREE/study-III for solo flute and 6 channel live electronics was performed at SIGNALE'11/Graz live electronic festival.

She composed works for small orchestra, ensembles and solo instruments, as well as music for art-film, installations and dance. Her works were performed at several well known venues and festivals in Netherlands, Europe and USA: 
festival Incontemporanea'09 /Ovada, Italy; SIGNALE'11 /Graz, AT; TRANSIT'11 /Leuven, BE,  November Music'11 / Den Bosch, TOONZETTERS'10 Muziekgebouw aat'IJ / Amsterdam, Theater Kikker/Utrecht, “Luister Salon'08,09” at BimHUis /Amsterdam, Korzo Theater/Den Haag, TrytoneFestival Zaal100/Amsterdam, WEALR festival of electro-acoustic music, San Francisco/US; WAYWARD electro-acoustic flute music festival /Seattle, US, and others. 

Back to the overview <